Malaga 2008, European Water Polo

July 2008. The brand new Malaga Water Complex (Centro Deportivo Inacua), named as one of the best European swimming centres, was inaugurated with the European Water Polo Championships held from July 4th to 13th.
The complex has been installed in record times: the first stone was cast in February 2007, and all the works were finished at the beginning of 2008.
The architect who has designed this center is Luis Millet, the same one who designed the pools for the Olympic Games in Barcelona and proposed the ones for Madrid 2012.
The complex is divided in two parts, one indoor and one outdoor. Three of the four pools are indoor: the pool for swimming and water polo is a 51.5×25 m Myrtha pool, equipped with two bulkheads.

The 34.5×16.5 pool is fitted with a movable floor and the third pool measures 16.5×10 meters and is equipped with hydromassage benches, geysers and fountains.
The outdoor 50×25 pool hosted the final water polo competitions.

Malaga 2008, European Water Polo
State: SPAIN
Type: Competition pool
Accessories: Movable floor, Movable bulkhead, Fountains, waterfalls and Geysers, Hydromassages
Year: 2008
Dimension: (indoor) m 51,15 x 25 x 2,10 - m 34,5 x 16,5 x 2,10 - m 16,5 x 10 x 1,10 - (outdoor) m 50 x 25 x 2
Technology: Myrtha overflow gutter – ceramic/1, Myrtha overflow gutter – ceramic/2
Request information